UF/IFAS Extension series explains Florida’s Cottage Food Law

Posted 11/1/26

What is the Florida Cottage Food Law and how can I become an entrepreneur? Do I need to register my business name or pay taxes ...

You must be a member to read this story.

Join our family of readers for as little as $10 per month and support local, unbiased journalism.


Already have an account? Log in to continue. Otherwise, follow the link below to join.

Please log in to continue

Log in
I am anchor

UF/IFAS Extension series explains Florida’s Cottage Food Law

Posted

What is the Florida Cottage Food Law and how can I become an entrepreneur? Do I need to register my business name or pay taxes as a cottage food operator? Can I sell my homemade bread baked from my home?

These are some of the most common questions Jenn Hagen and her colleagues regularly receive. As a Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) agent at UF/IFAS Extension Lee County, she is leading an awareness campaign with colleagues throughout the state to help clear up confusion on which products are approved for sale under Florida Cottage Food Law and the regulations and risks to becoming a cottage foodie.

“For many Floridians, these kitchen creations spark thoughts of earning extra income from home, but not every homemade food product can be made or sold under Florida’s Cottage Food Law,” said Hagen. “While the law offers residents a relatively simple pathway to start certain food businesses, there are important limits on what can be made, sold and marketed from a home kitchen.”

Hagen and the FCS team have also developed educational resources, webinars and in-person programs to help entrepreneurs navigate questions that can be easy to overlook, from how products must be labeled to what’s required for local business and zoning compliance and more. Check in with your local UF/IFAS County Extension office to find the next class for your area.

Before Floridians whip up a business plan, Hagen helps sift through common questions about selling food from home.

Q: What are the basics of Florida’s Cottage Food Law?

A: A cottage food operation is a home-based food business that prepares, packages, stores and sells approved cottage food products out of a Florida resident's home kitchen. Under Florida Statute 500.80, qualifying cottage food operations are exempt from obtaining a food permit from a state food regulatory agency like the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) and are not subject to routine state inspections. To qualify for this exemption, your annual gross sales, which amount to your total sales revenue of cottage food products but not your profit, may not exceed $250,000. If your gross sales exceed this limit, you will no longer qualify for the exemption and will need to obtain the appropriate food permit.

Q: Does compliance with the Florida Cottage Food Law mean a person is automatically allowed to sell from their home or at a roadside stand?

A: State law governs cottage food production, but local municipal rules are equally important and differ by where you live and ultimately, cottage food operators must meet both sets of requirements.

On the local level, you may need to register your business, pay local taxes, obtain zoning approval for home-based sales. You may need to comply with rules on hours, signage, parking and product pickup. Some jurisdictions even prohibit retail kiosks, farm stands or self-serve vending.”

Because local regulations can change and vary widely, always confirm the current rules with your city and county government before investing in or setting up any type of stand.

Q: What is the difference between a roadside stand, kiosk and farm stand and why is this important?

A: When using terms like "roadside stand," "kiosk," or "farm stand," definitions often vary. What matters most is what's being sold, who's selling it, and where the stand is located.

While the terms are often used interchangeably, the following distinctions can be helpful:

  • Kiosk or booth — a temporary, often portable stand placed in a public area or shopping center. It can be staffed or unstaffed.
  • Vending machine — a coin, currency, or card-operated machine that dispenses food, beverages or other These are not staffed and requires separate licensing and compliance.
  • Roadside stands — a stand along a public road that sells to passing Usually staffed by someone on-site.
  • Farm stand — a stand on or near a farm selling produce or homemade goods from that farm. Usually staffed, though some are self-serve.

Florida's cottage food rules require direct sales to the customer. An unattended, self-serve kiosk or vending machine does not meet that requirement, regardless of what you call it. Those operators must register with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), obtain a separate registration certificate for each county where a machine is located, and collect applicable sales tax.

Zoning rules also differ based on whether the stand is on the seller's own property or another site. Because regulations vary by locality, consult your local county and city governments before setting up any kind of stand.

Q: Is the Cottage Food Law for everyone?

A: The Cottage Food Law provides a great opportunity for many people to start a small food business from home, but it is not the right fit for every product or business. Not all food products qualify as cottage food, and not everyone wanting to start a food business will fall under this exemption.

Food products that do not qualify must be made according to federal and state food safety regulations, typically in a licensed commercial facility. If you are looking to start a food business beyond cottage food, including questions about food safety permits, required training, licensing or business planning, contact your local Florida Cooperative Extension office for guidance.

UF/IFAS, food, law, cottage
x